Exhibitions abroad

Dani, Grand Prix de La Baule

Along with our wishes for a happy new year, we are delighted to share this photograph, which will be shown in 2017 in several exhibitions organized in collaboration with the Lartigue Donation, including “J. H. Lartigue: Images of a Floating World,” organized by Florian Rodari, which will be presented at the Sang Sang Foundation in […]

Exhibitions in France

Fashion altitude

Jacques Henri Lartigue was just nineteen years old when, on vacation in St. Moritz in 1913, he experienced winter sports for the first time; from the start, he was enchanted. Lartigue, who would later be referred to as eccentric for “going towards the cold weather in wintertime,” soon discovered Chamonix and Megève, and photographed many […]

Exhibitions in France

Lartigue at the beach

Lartigue’s photographs are permeated with the nonchalance and poetry of seaside towns on the French Riviera, in Normandy and on the Basque coastline, where he found the ideal theatre for capturing fleeting moments and for exploring the brevity of happiness and the fragility of existence. These images by Lartigue are included in the exhibition “Tous […]

Exhibitions in France

Lartigue and Avedon

At the Bibliothèque national de France, France’s national library (François Mitterrand site) from October 18, 2016, to February 26, 2017, Avedon’s France, Old World, New Look tells the story of American photographer Richard Avedon’s deep attachment to France. The exhibition brings together nearly 200 pieces, some dating back to the 1940s, with a room dedicated to […]

Exhibitions abroad

Lartigue in “Who Shot Sports” at the Brooklyn Museum

Through January 8, 2017, photographs by Jacques Henri Lartigue are shown in the exhibition “Who Shot Sports: A Photographic History, 1843 to the Present” at the Brooklyn Museum in New York. Driven to freeze action and portray what the naked eye alone cannot see, sports photographers have an important place in the history of photography. […]

Exhibitions in France

Lartigue, Doisneau, and their portrayals of horses

From July 9 to 27 September, on the occasion of the 2016 Impressionist Festival in Normandy, the Haras natiinal du Pin – the first royal stables built between 1715 and 1730, in the Orne in Normandy, nicknamed “Versailles for horses” – presents the exhibition « Doisneau, Lartigue, un autre portrait du cheval (another portrait of horses). » […]

Exhibitions in France

Lartigue in Opio

Commemorating the thirtieth anniversary of the death of Jacques Henri Lartigue (1894-1986), the Opiom Gallery and the Town Hall in Opio – a village in the South of Frnce where Lartigue lived for many years – , in collaboration with the Donation Lartigue, present an exhibition entitled “The Colors of Opio.” On display through December 31, the […]

Exhibitions in France

Jacques Henri Lartigue and Doctor Pierre Boucard

Jacques Henri Lartigue’s images spill over with the joy he felt among the family members, friends, and lovers he immortalized in his photographs. One of the most prominent figures in his photos is his brother-in-law, Dr. Pierre Boucard. From 1920 to 1930, Lartigue visited this doctor and researcher (inventor of Lactéol) on numerous occasions, both […]

Exhibitions abroad

Lartigue curated by novelist William Boyd

From June 8th to August 9th, the Michael Hoppen Gallery in London presents “The Blink of an Eye,” revealing Lartigue’s world through the eyes of British author William Boyd, a fervent admirer of Lartigue and author of “An English in the Tropics” or “The Many Lives of Amory Clay” (a dazzling portrait of a photographer). […]

Exhibitions in France

The Floating World in Nice

Presented for the first time in France, the exhibition “Jacques Henri Lartigue, A Floating World” is at the Théâtre de la Photographie et l’Image Charles Nègre in Nice from June 17th to September 25th. Some 200 photographs highlight the theme of passing moments, the brevity of happiness and life’s fragility. Curated by Martine d’Astier, Marie-France […]

Expositions à l'étranger

Dani, Grand Prix de La Baule

Cette image qui accompagnait nos vœux 2017 apparaît  dans plusieurs projets de la Donation. Elle fera partie de l’exposition J.H. Lartigue, images d’un monde flottant, conçue par Florian Rodari, qui aura lieu à la Fondation Sang Sang, à Séoul, du 1er avril au 10 juillet 2017. Elle sera également présente dans l’exposition montée par Martine […]

Expositions en France

Fashion altitude

Jacques Henri Lartigue a tout juste 19 neuf ans lorsqu’il se rend aux sports d’hiver pour la première fois, en 1913 à Saint-Moritz. Son enchantement est immédiat. Par la suite, considéré comme excentrique « d’aller vers le froid en hiver », il découvre également Chamonix et Megève, photographiant des scènes ludiques de ski, de luge, […]

Expositions en France

Lartigue à la plage

L’œuvre de Lartigue est imprégnée de l’insouciance et de la poésie des villes balnéaires de la Côte d’Azur, de la Normandie et de la Côte basque. Il y trouve le théâtre idéal pour ses thèmes de prédilection : l’instant qui passe, la fragilité du bonheur et la brièveté de la vie. Lartigue est présenté au […]

Expositions en France

Lartigue et Avedon

À la Bibliothèque nationale de France site François Mitterrand du 18 octobre 2016 au 26 février 2017, La France d’Avedon, Vieux monde, new look raconte l’histoire de l’attachement profond pour la France du photographe américain Richard Avedon. L’exposition rassemble près de 200 pièces, dont certaines remontent aux années 1940, avec une salle dédiée à la […]

Expositions à l'étranger

Lartigue dans « Who Shot Sports » au Brooklyn Museum

Jusqu’au 8 janvier 2017, des œuvres de Jacques Henri Lartigue sont présentées au sein  de l’exposition Who Shot Sports: A Photographic History, 1843 to the Present au Brooklyn Museum à New York met en vedette les photographes de sports qui immortalisent les moments les plus mémorables de l’histoire sportive, de joie extrême ou de grande déception. Cette exposition très attendue, qui […]

Expositions en France

Doisneau, Lartigue… portraits de chevaux

Du 9 juillet au 27 septembre, à l’occasion du festival Normandie impressionniste 2016, le Haras national du Pin – le premier des haras royaux construits entre 1715 et 1730, dans l’Orne en Normandie, et surnommé le «Versailles des chevaux»  présente l’exposition Doisneau-Lartigue, un autre portrait du cheval.     Dans l’espace muséal au-dessus de l’écurie numéro 1, on voit des images […]

Expositions en France

Lartigue à Opio

A l’occasion des trente ans de la disparition de Jacques Henri Lartigue (1894-1986), Opiom Gallery et la mairie d’Opio avec la collaboration de la Donation Lartigue s’associent pour proposer, jusqu’au 31 décembre, une exposition  intitulée Les Couleurs d’Opio, une sélection de photographies en couleur prises sur la Côte d’Azur entre 1920 et 1977. A travers une vingtaine de tirages, l’exposition offre […]

Expositions en France

Jacques Henri Lartigue et Pierre Boucard

Pour Jacques Henri Lartigue, bonheur et joie de vivre n’existent qu’à travers les gens qu’il aime ; ce sont eux, membres de sa famille et innombrables amis du Tout-Paris, qu’il veille à immortaliser par ses photographies. Son beau-frère, le docteur Pierre Boucard, est l’une de ces figures marquantes. Au cours des années 1920-1930, Lartigue séjourne à de […]

Expositions à l'étranger

Lartigue vu par l’écrivain William Boyd

Du 8 juin au 9 août à la galerie Michael Hoppen, Londres, l’exposition « The Blink of an Eye » (En un clin d’œil) dévoile l’univers de Lartigue à travers le regard de l’écrivain britannique William Boyd. Fervent admirateur du photographe, l’auteur d’Un anglais sous les tropiques ou Les vies multiples d’Amory Clay (éblouissant portrait […]

Expositions en France

Un monde flottant à Nice

Encore jamais présentée en France, l’exposition « Jacques Henri Lartigue, Un monde flottant » est au Théâtre de la Photographie et de l’Image – Charles Nègre à Nice du 17 juin au 25 septembre :  quelque 200 photographies mettant en lumière le thème de l’instant qui passe, de la brièveté du bonheur et de la fragilité de […]