Exhibitions abroad

Lartigue at the Epoch Art Museum in Wenzhou, China

  From October 1st to October 30, 2015, this exhibition, curated by Duan Yuting and Martine d’Astier, presents 52 images chosen from the 135 original, large-format, 52-x-36 cm albums by Jacques Henri Lartigue (1894-1986). Born in 1984 into a wealthy family of the Parisian bourgeoisie, Lartigue enjoyed a carefree existence from childhood. He never went […]

Exhibitions in France

Lartigue, father and son

The exhibition « Lartigue, père & fils » (Lartigue, Father and Son) is on display through October 31, 2015,  at the Château de la Messardière, a prestigious 5-star hotel perched on the Saint-Tropez hills in the south of France. Built in the 19th century, this magnificent castle was a wedding gift for Henry Brisson de la Messardière, […]

Exhibitions abroad

The Riviera

The exhibition « RIVIERA » was inaugurated on June 5, 2015, at the Art Museum of Türku, Finland, (Turun Taidemuseo). This is the first exhibition of Jacques Henri Lartigue’s photographs in a Finnish museum.   The exhibit focuses on Lartigue’s travels to the French Riviera from the 1920s to the 1950s. Unpopulated coastal landcapes from the period […]

Exhibitions in France

Life in Colour

The exhibition “La vie en couleurs” (Life in Colour) offers viewers a unique opportunity to delve into an unknown period of Jacques Henri Lartigue’s career: his work in colour. Until now, very few of his colour photographs have been shown, and the vast majority have never been seen. Although he is best known for his […]

Collection prints

Master platinum prints from 31 Studio

Born in 1894, Jacques Henri Lartigue most likely could have used platinum printing. However, no platinum prints by him have ever been found, nor has any reference to such a process been seen in the numerous diary entries in which he described his early photographic endeavours. Michael Hoppen, whose gallery in London works regularly with the J.H. Lartigue […]

Exhibitions in France

Dressing for the mountains

  In 1786, two Chamonix natives, Jacques Balmat and Michel-Gabriel Paccard, were among the first to climb Mont-Blanc in France.  In those days, basic outdoor gear wasn’t particularly well-suited to mountain climbing, so resourceful day-trippers often designed their own clothing. From such pioneers such to 20th-century winter-sports enthusiasts, mountain apparel has continued to evolve. In the […]

Exhibitions abroad

Lartigue : La vie au grand air

          Exhibition presented from November 22 to December 24, 2014 Lianzhou Fotofestival The Candy Factory Zhongshan South Road 120, Lianzhou Guangdong, Chine Site Lianzhoufoto Festival 2014      

Exhibitions abroad

A vida em movimento

Lartigue’s work finally travels to Brazil in an exhibit that focuses on two of the artist’s favourite themes : air and water. Lartigue’s zest for life is evident and alternately expressed by both calm and contemplation, and the giddiness that comes from speed and flight, capers and dives: “bubbling life” as he used to say. […]

Exhibitions abroad

Bibi

Following exhibitions in Arles and London, the Multimedia Art Museum (MAMM) in Moscow hosts the exhibition ‘Bibi”  in the framework of the 2014 photo biennial. The MAMM arts musuem, created in 1996, is an ambitious project housing The Moscow House of Photography and its rich collection of Russian photography, as well as the Rodchenko Art School. […]

Exhibitions in France

Tennis on the front lines, 1914-1918

In 2006, the French Tennis Foundation and the Donation Lartigue organized an exhibit of Lartigue’s sports photographs entitled “L’art du fugitive – tennis et mouvement 1905 -1929.” Eight years later, as part of commemorating the hundredth anniversary of the First World War, the FFT presents “Lignes de Front – le tennis en 14-18,” an exhibition paying […]

Expositions en France

Lartigue, La vie en couleurs

L’exposition « La vie en couleurs » à la Maison européenne de la photographie à Paris a fermé ses portes le 23 août 2015. Organisée en cinq séquences, elle présente 128 photographies encadrées et de nombreux documents sous vitrines ainsi qu’une projection d’autochromes en 3D.     L’exposition dont le commissariat a été assuré par Martine d’Astier […]

Expositions à l'étranger

La vie au grand air, musée Epoch, Wenzhou, Chine

  Du 1 au 30 octobre 2015, cette exposition, dont le commissariat est assuré par Duan Yuting et Martine d’Astier, présente 52 images choisies dans les 135 grands albums originaux de format 52 x 36 de Jacques Henri Lartigue (1894-1986). Né en 1894 dans une famille aisée de la grande bourgeoisie parisienne, Lartigue bénéficie dès […]

Expositions en France

Lartigue, père et fils

Jusqu’au 31 octobre 2015, au sein de l’exposition « Lartigue, père & fils » les œuvres de Jacques Henri Lartigue et de son fils, Dany, sont à l’honneur au Château de la Messardière, un prestigieux hôtel 5 étoiles sur les collines de Saint-Tropez.  Construit au XIXème siècle, le château offert pour leur mariage à Henry Brisson de la […]

Expositions à l'étranger

Riviera

Le 5 juin 2015  a commencé l’exposition « RIVIERA » au Musée d’art de Türku (Turun Taidemuseo). C’est la première fois que Jacques Henri Lartigue est exposé dans un musée en Finlande. Cette exposition permet de partager les séjours de Lartigue, entre les années 20 et les années 50, sur la côte d’Azur. On y découvre les […]

Expositions en France

Lartigue : La vie en couleurs

« La vie en couleurs» se présente comme une occasion unique de découvrir un pan inédit de l’œuvre de Jacques Henri Lartigue, ses clichés en couleurs n’ayant été jusqu’ici que très partiellement montrés et restant, dans leur grande majorité, parfaitement inconnus. Célébré au siècle dernier comme un génie du noir et blanc, J.H. Lartigue se […]

Tirages de collection

Platine : Master prints from 31 Studio

  Né en 1894, Jacques Henri Lartigue aurait pu l’utiliser, mais il n’en a rien fait. Nulle trace dans ses albums, de tirages au platine, et il ne semble pas l’évoquer non plus dans son journal où il notait scrupuleusement, durant ses premières années, ses découvertes photographiques. A l’instigation de Michael Hoppen, de la Michael […]

Expositions en France

Défilé Alpin

  En 1786, les premières ascensions du Mont-Blanc sont accomplies par deux chamoniards : Jacques Balmat et Michel-Gabriel Paccard. A l’époque, l’équipement rudimentaire n’est pas spécifiquement adapté à la montagne mais les premiers excursionnistes font preuve d’ingéniosité en créant eux-mêmes leurs vêtements.   De ces précurseurs jusqu’à la pratique populaire des sports d’hiver au 20e siècle, […]

Expositions à l'étranger

A vida em movimento

L’œuvre de Lartigue découvre enfin le Brésil dans une exposition dédiée à l’air, et à l’eau : deux thèmes de prédilection de l’artiste. On admire son formidable goût de vivre au cœur duquel le calme et la contemplation n’ont de cesse d’alterner avec l’ivresse de la vitesse et la conquête de l’air ; des cabrioles […]

Expositions à l'étranger

Bibi

« Bibi »poursuit sa route : après Arles et Londres, c’est au tour du public moscovite de découvrir l’exposition. En effet, le Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow (MAMM) accueille « Bibi »dans le cadre de sa Photobiennale 2014. Complexe artistique ambitieux, crée en 1996, le MAMM comprend aussi The Moscow House of Photography dotée d’une riche collection de photographie russe […]

Expositions en France

Lignes de front : le tennis en 14-18

En 2006,  la Fédération Française de Tennis  et la Donation Lartigue organisaient l’exposition “L’art du fugitif – tennis et mouvement 1905-1929” à partir de clichés de sport de Lartigue.   Aujourd’hui, dans le cadre de la celebration de la Grande Guerre, la FFT propose “LIgnes de front – le tennis en 14-18” en son musée. […]